Ruben Dias Wins FWA Award

Manchester City and Portuguese defender Ruben Dias have been named men’s footballer of the year by the Football Writers’ Association. The 24-year-old Portuguese international was signed from Benfica last summer for around £65m.

Ruben Dias Wins First Individual Award with City

Ruben Dias has helped Manchester City win the Premier League and Carabao Cup and reach the Uefa Champions League final. After receiving the award, Ruben Dias said: “It is a huge privilege. I could not have done it without the success of the team.”

Ruben Dias Wins Fwa Award 1
Ruben Dias Wins FWA Award 3

The defender also said him receiving this prize is a prominent example of how Manchester City work together, the co-operation and support for each other. He also said: “It reflects all the togetherness we have on the pitch, how we perform and the spirit that is in the team and with these players.”

According to the Football Writer’s Association, Dias was a “comfortable winner”, finishing ahead of Manchester United and Manchester City target Harry Kane and Kevin de Bruyne. A total of nine City players received votes, accounting for more than 50% of that cast.

Dias is only the third player to win the FWA award in his first season in English football, and the last defender to win the accolade was Liverpool’s Steve Nicol 32 years ago.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
EveryEvery We would like to show you notifications for the latest news and updates.
Allow Notifications