Afcon 2023 Playoff: Egypt in Group of Death

Egypt has lost the Africa Cup of Nations final and missed out on qualification for the World Cup already in 2022, and now is like they face a very difficult route to the 2023 Nations Cup. The Pharaohs, record seven-time winners of the tournament, have been drawn alongside Guinea, Malawi, and Ethiopia in qualifying, with just the top two reaching next year’s finals in Ivory Coast.

Egypt to Battle top African Teams in Afcon 2023 Playoff

Guinea and Malawi both progressed to the last 16 at the Nations Cup in Cameroon earlier this year, while Ethiopia suffered a group-stage exit. Elsewhere, holders Senegal will face a trio of sides Benin, Mozambique, and Rwanda who were not present at the delayed 2021 edition of the tournament.

Forty-eight African countries have been split into 12 qualifying groups of four, with the top two in each group reaching the finals. However, hosts Ivory Coast are guaranteed a spot at the tournament next year, so whichever of their opponents Zambia, Comoros, and Lesotho finish highest will qualify.

Afcon 2023 Playoff: Egypt In Group Of Death
Afcon 2023 Playoff: Egypt in Group of Death

The Super Eagles of Nigeria are drawn in Group A with Sierra Leone, Guinea-Bissau, Sao Tome e Principe and Mauritius who are awaiting a lift of the ban from CAF. CAF will announce the dates and schedule of fixtures in due course. The 2023 Nations Cup is set to be held in Ivory Coast in June and July next year.

Africa Cup of Nations 2023 qualifying groups

Group A: Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Guinea-Bissau, Sao Tome e Principe or Mauritius.

Group B: Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Togo, Eswatini.

Group C: Cameroon, Kenya, Namibia, Burundi.

Group D: Egypt, Guinea, Malawi, Ethiopia.

Group E: Ghana, Madagascar, Angola, Central African Republic.

Group F: Algeria, Uganda, Niger, Tanzania.

Group G: Mali, Congo, The Gambia, South Sudan.

Group H: Ivory Coast (hosts), Zambia, Comoros, Lesotho.

Group I: DR Congo, Gabon, Mauritania, Sudan.

Group J: Tunisia, Equatorial Guinea, Libya, Botswana.

Group K: Morocco, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Liberia.

Group L: Senegal, Benin, Mozambique, Rwanda.

Back to top button