Tottenham Book First Final Under Jose Mourinho

Jose Mourinho Records First Final with Tottenham Hotspur

Tottenham Hotspur booked their place in the Carabao Cup final at Wembley after beating Sky Bet Championship side Brentford 2-0 in North London.

Spurs have now reached their ninth League Cup final, so far they have won four of the finals only Liverpool have more wins than them as they have twelve.

Also, José Mourinho made a record in the win, he becomes the third manager to reach the League Cup final with three different clubs. He has done it with Chelsea, Manchester United and now Tottenham Hotspurs, the first and second on the list are Ron Atkinson and Ron Saunders.

Ron Sauders did it with Manchester United, Sheffield Wednesday and Aston Villa while Ron Saunders did it with Norwich City, Manchester City and Aston Villa. 

Tottenham Book First Final Under Jose Mourinho 1
Tottenham Book First Final Under Jose Mourinho 3

Tottenham took the lead from the first 13th minute of the game. France midfielder Moussa Sissoko headed home the opener. Brentford thought they had equalised after Ivan Toney bundled home after Spurs failed to clear a corner, but it was ruled out after VAR check.

Spurs then put the game to bed on 70 minutes of the game through Heung-Min Son who fired home Tanguy Ndombele’s defence-splitting pass to make it 2-0. Things got worst for the visitors as their player was handed a straight red card for a bad tackle.

Tottenham have now progressed to the EFL (Carabao) Cup final where they will play the winners of Wednesday night’s Manchester derby.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
EveryEvery We would like to show you notifications for the latest news and updates.
Allow Notifications