Spanish Super Cup: Madrid, Barca, others Clash

The Spanish Super Cup for the 2021 season which will be played in Suadi Arabia has been scheduled to start in January. Laliga giants Real Madrid, Barcelona, Athletic Bilbao and Real Sociedad will all take part in the Spanish Super Cup.

Real Madrid and Barcelona will feature in the four-team tournament as Laliga champions and runners-up respectively.

While Athletic Bilbao and Real Sociedad will be in action as finalists of last season’s Copa del Rey. The semifinals will be played in Jeddah on the 13th of and 14th of January respectively. The final will be on the 16th of January as the game will only involve four teams.

The first edition was won by Real Madrid, Barcelona was beaten by Atletico Madrid in the semifinal 3-2. It was the result that led to the sack of Ernesto Valverde. Real Madrid, on the other hand, beat Valencia to book the final ticket with Atletic Madrid.

Despite the coronavirus pandemic, the RFEF remain keen on playing the Super Cup in Saudi Arabia this January and as such are pushing ahead with arrangements. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
EveryEvery We would like to show you notifications for the latest news and updates.
Allow Notifications