Manchester City Win Carabao Cup For Fourth Successive Time

Manchester City won the League Cup for a record fourth time in succession with a deserved victory over a disappointing Tottenham Hotspur side at Wembley.

Laporte the hero for Manchester City

City defender Aymeric Laporte, arguably fortunate to be on the pitch after escaping a sending off in the first half before being cautioned after the break, rose above Spurs substitute Moussa Sissoko to head home Kevin de Bruyne’s free-kick eight minutes from time.

It was an appropriate reward for City creating a host of chances and dominating Spurs, who did not enjoy any positive reaction from sacking manager Jose Mourinho on Monday and replacing him with caretaker Ryan Mason.

City, who lost the chance of a historic quadruple when they were beaten by Chelsea in the FA Cup semi-final at Wembley eight days ago, secure their first trophy of the season three days before their Champions League semi-final first leg at Paris St-Germain.

Back to top button
EveryEvery We would like to show you notifications for the latest news and updates.
Allow Notifications