Carlo Ancelotti Sets New Record with La Liga Trophy

Real Madrid head coach Carlo Ancelotti became the first manager to win the league in all five of Europe’s major leagues as his side Real Madrid beat Espanyol 4-0 to win La Liga. Two goals from Rodrygo and one strike each from Marco Asensio and Karim Benzema confirmed Real’s 35th Spanish title. They are 17 points clear of second-placed Sevilla with four games to play which means even if they lose all their remaining games they will still win the league.

Carlo Ancelotti Wins his First La Liga Title

Carlo Ancelotti has won titles in Italy’s Serie A, France’s Ligue 1, the Premier League in England, and the German Bundesliga. Real needed only a draw to win the title, but victory was never really in doubt once Rodrygo stroked home from just inside the area. The young Brazilian doubled Real Madrid’s lead a minute before the break when he robbed Sergi Gomez of possession on the edge of the penalty area and fired low into the bottom corner.

Carlo Ancelotti Sets New Record With La Liga Trophy

Asensio finished off a rapid counter-attack before their skipper and top goal scorer Karim Benzema completed the scoring. The France international was rested with Wednesday’s Champions League semi-final against Manchester City in mind but he made his make in the few minutes he played.

Carlo Ancelotti won five major titles in two years at the Bernabeu between 2013 and 2015, including ‘La Decima’ – their 10th European Cup – but the Spanish title eluded him. He won the Italian Serie A title with AC Milan in 2004. He won the English Premier League with Chelsea in 2010, before winning the Ligue 1 with Paris St-Germain in 2013 and the Bundesliga with Bayern Munich in 2017.

Ancelotti’s season could end in more glory if his side beat Manchester City at the Bernabeu and reach the final and lift the trophy he would become the only man to win the European Cup or Champions League four times as a manager, having also led AC Milan to the trophy in 2003 and 2007.

Back to top button