Senate Confirms Buratai, Others As Ambassadors

Despite criticisms from different quarters, the National Assembly has confirmed the immediate past service chiefs’ nomination as non-career ambassadors.

The former service chiefs are General Abayomi Olonisakin (Rtd), Lt. General Tukur Y. Buratai (Rtd), Vice Admiral Ibok-Ete E. Ibas and Air Marshal Sadique B. Abubakar (Rtd).

Three weeks after President Muhammadu Buhari nominated them, the Senate on Tuesday, February 23, confirmed the immediate past Service Chiefs as non-career ambassadors.

The Personal Assistant to President Buhari, Bashir Ahmad disclosed this via his Twitter handle.

Though Senate Minority Leader, Enyinaya Abaribe faulted the confirmation by questioning the nomination of the ex-service chiefs when the Senate had on three different occasions called for their sack.

Senate Confirms Buratai

Abaribe also wondered why the petitions against the former service chiefs were dismissed without explanations.

However, Senate President Ahmad Lawan maintained that the National Assembly could not kick against their nominations because they are on a different assignment.

According to Lawan, the former service chiefs had served the country to the best of their abilities.

The Nigerian Senate

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
EveryEvery We would like to show you notifications for the latest news and updates.
Allow Notifications