NLC Declares Strike In 18 States

The Nigeria Labour Congress, NLC has directed workers in 18 states to proceed on strike immediately.

According to the NLC, the states are where the National minimum wage of N30 000 had yet to be paid.

The states include Imo, Rivers, Osun, Ekiti, Ogun, Ebonyi, Kwara, Zamfara, Gombe, and Rivers.

The NLC said about half the thirty-six states were yet to conclude negotiations on the minimum wage payment.

NLC described the refusal to pay the new national minimum wage by state governments as an act of criminality and betrayal of office sworn oath by state chief executives.

Meanwhile, the union has demanded a review of the template used in determining the pump price of petrol .

NLC Declares Strike

The NLC further rejected deregulation of the downstream sector of the oil industry, noting that it negatively impacted the working-class family and the masses’ welfare.

Nlc Declares Strike In 18 States
NLC President, Ayuba Wabba

The union asked the government to immediately address the conditions within its control, driving up electricity tariffs.

In a related development, the NLC also resolved to issue a fourteen days ultimatum to Turkish Airline and Caverton Helicopter’s management.

The union wants Turkish Airline to reinstate all sacked trade union executives and desist from further anti-union actions.

Nigeria Labour Congress, NLC
Back to top button
EveryEvery We would like to show you notifications for the latest news and updates.
Allow Notifications