2023 Election: Seyi Makinde Wins Oyo PDP Primaries

The Governor of Oyo State, Seyi Makinde, has moved a step closer to running for a second term as he emerges winner of the governorship primary of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The PDP primary held on Wednesday at the Lekan Salami Stadium, Adamasingba, Ibadan, saw Seyi Makinde defeat Mr Hazeem Gbolarunmi by 1,040 votes to two votes.

The Returning Officer Ben Obi, represented by Abdullahi MaiBasia, announced the results, declaring Seyi Makinde as the PDP ticket holder for the 2023 Gubernatorial election in the state.

Makinde became the governor of Oyo State in the 2019 election after defeating Adebayo Adelabu of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

If elected as Oyo State Governor for a second term, Makinde will become the only second person to rule Oyo State for eight years since the late Senator Abiola Ajimobi.

Back to top button