Date set for 2021 FIFA Club World Cup

The FIFA Governing body has announced the date for the 2021 FIFA Club World Cup.

The tournament is an international men’s association club football competition for winners of all continental competitions, competing for the ultimate prize.

A total of seven clubs from six confederations and the competition host will compete for the FIFA Club World Cup.

The confederations are UEFA (Europe), CAF (Africa), CONMEBOL (South America), OFC (Oceania), AFC (Asia) and CONCACAF (North America).

This year’s participants in the competitions are Chelsea Fc of England, the European representative after winning the 2020/2021 UEFA Champions league; Mexico’s Monterrey representing CONCACAF, Egyptian AL Ahly, after winning the CAF Champions League; Brazilian Palmeiras representing CONMEBOL.

Newzealand’s Auckland City will represent OFC while Saudi Arabia’s Al Hilal will represent AFC after winning the continental competition, and Al Jazira from Asia will qualify as host.

The host Al Jazira will face off with Auckland City in the first round of the competition, while the tie winner will play against Al Hilal in the second round.

The winner of both ties will face off with Chelsea in the Semi-final of the competition.

In the other groupings of the draw, the winner of the tie between Africas Al Ahly and Monterrey of CONCACAF will play Palmeiras in the semi-finals.

The winner of the two semi-final ties will compete for the FIFA Club World Cup trophy in the finals.

FIFA Club World Cup to Hold 2022

The tournament, which holds December of every year until the Coronavirus pandemic, has been pushed forward to 2022 after the Original host, Japan, opted out because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The tournament will occur in the United Arab Emirate (UAE) between February 3rd and 12th, 2022.

Date Set For 2021 Fifa Club World Cup
Current Holders Bayern Munich Celebrating Qatar 2020 FIFA CWC Win

Chelsea lost the final of the 2012 Club World Cup competition to Corinthians after losing 1-0 to the Brazilian side.

Auckland City also lost in the 2014 semi-final to San Lorenzo, who lost to eventual winners Real Madrid.

Al Ahly has qualified for the competition a record six times and never won the competition.

Monterrey lost 2019 final to Liverpool and will be looking to change their fortune this time around.

Al Jazira lost the third-place match in 2017 to Mexican club Pachuca after losing their semi-final tie to eventual winners Real Madrid.

Real Madrid has won the FIFA Club World Cup four times, winning in three consecutive years between 2016 and 2018.

They are closely followed by Barcelona, who has won it three times, Bayern Munich, the current holder, and Corinthians has won it twice.

Sao Paulo, Internacional, Manchester United, Inter Milan, AC Milan, and Liverpool have won it.

Back to top button