Africans Frowns At Released FIFA Best IX List

Messi Wins Men’s Player of the Year for the Sixth Time

Africans Frowns At Released Fifa Best Ix List 1
Lionel Messi Wins Men’s Player of the Year 2019

FIFA has named Barcelona star Lionel Messi, Men’s Best Player of the Year beating Vigil Van Dijk and Cristiano Ronaldo. The Argentine scored more league goals than anyone else in Europe last season. He scored 36 goals and helped Barca win another La Liga title. Messi has now won the award six times moving ahead of his rival Cristiano Ronaldo by one.

Ronaldo and Messi have dominated the award since 2008, they were only interrupted by Luka Modric last year 2018. Lionel Messi(32) also made the FIFA IX for 2019.

How the Votes Were Cast

FIFA gave a breakdown of how the votes were cast. The people eligible to vote are National team captains and coaches.

Messi voted for Liverpool Senegalist Sadio Mane and Ronaldo as his second pick, but it was not the same with Ronaldo. The Portuguese picked his Juventus team-mate Matthijs de Ligt as his first option and had earlier said he deserves the award more than Messi.


Alisson Becker won the individual goalkeeping accolade and also named among the 2019 FIFA IX. Surprisingly Marcelo Vieira (Brazil, Real Madrid beat Danny Rose and Liverpool’s left-back Andrew Robertson to fill the left backspace. Matthijs de Ligt (Netherlands, Juventus), Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid), and Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands, Liverpool) made up the defense.


The midfield has Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid), Frenkie de Jong (Netherlands, Ajax) and Eden Hazard (Belgium, Real Madrid).


While in the attack line, Kylian Mbappe (France, Paris Saint-Germain), Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona) and Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Juventus) occupied the space.

Comments On Messi winning MBPY Award

They have been reactions concerning the award, Paul Merson said: “Messi has done what he does every season, he hasn’t taken Barcelona to another level and won them the Champions League. Van Dijk should have won it you win it because you’ve done something special, which Van Dijk has done he added.

“Messi won it because they started [the awards] in 2016, and for the first two years, Cristiano Ronaldo won it and last year, Luka Modric won it. Now they have to give it to the Argentine.

Van Dijk has been outstanding in both club and country. He took his Nation to the Nations League final and he’s taken Liverpool to another level too. If the coach is getting the manager of the year, why won’t Van Dijk get the best player? It’s all about the moment and he should have won it.”

Darren Bent a member of the deciding body had a different opinion. He said Messi was the right person to win it and that’s why he won it.

“51 goals in 50 games from last season is absolutely insane and he carries Barcelona on his back, which he has done for years and years he added. The former Aston Villa striker said Barcelona has not been good for some time now but Messi has managed to keep going.”

Mane Did Better Than Mbape!

Others are saying African’s Mane or Salah should have at least be in the FIFA IX. The two Africans have really done well to have come from runners up to Champions League champions. Mbape was good but he was not as impactful as Liverpool’s Saido Mane or Mohamed Salah. The list seems to show a bit of favoritism and Africans are surely not happy about it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button
EveryEvery We would like to show you notifications for the latest news and updates.
Allow Notifications